Hurling was formally organised and revived in Castleblayney in April 1906 when Fr. Clinton arranged a
meeting at the schoolroom to start a Hurling Club in Castleblayney. Hurling had a sporadic history in the
town until the 1940s when the club became a sub-branch of the Gaelic League. The club won its first
senior hurling championship in 1943 defeating Carrickmacross who reversed the score in 1945.
Eamon O’Toole and Joe Butler represented Ulster in the Railway Cup in 1945 and 1947.
The club reformed in 1954 at the Town Hall and won senior hurling championships in 1955, 1957, 1958
and 1959, as well as Mid-Ulster Leagues in 1958 and 1959.

In 1960, the club affiliated a second club, Castleblayney Éire Óg, which affiliated for county and provincial
competitions until 1965. This second club was established to give the many young players in the town an
opportunity to play competitively and to set an example to the rest of the county. The two Blayney teams
(Blayney Faughs and Blayney Éire Óg) met in the 1962 senior hurling final with the Blayney Éire Óg
team as underdogs winning the game with a late flurry of scores.

The club had 6 players selected on the Ulster team for Railway Cup action in the 1960s, Tommy Nolan,
Mossy O’Riordan, Frank Cullinane, Paddy Denny, Terry Connolly and Jimmy Holohan.
In the late 1960s, Frank McQuaid established hurling in Our Lady’s Secondary School and the school’s
young players under Frank’s tutelage were the backbone of the juvenile teams in the club. The U14s
played in the first Féile in Tipperary in 1971 and this representation at Féile has continued to the present
day with highlighted wins in 1992, 2016 and 2019.
Also in 1971, Frank Marron and Terry Connolly played key roles in Monaghan winning the Ulster Junior
Hurling Championship for the first time. The club won senior hurling championships in 1974, 1977 and

In the 1980s, the club won the Senior Hurling Championship in 1988 and 1989. The county team won the
National Hurling League in 1986 and 3 Ulster Hurling Championships in 1986, 1987 and 1988 with
Blayney players to the fore.

The 1990s saw Senior Hurling Championship wins in 1992, 1994 and 1999 along with 7 senior hurling
league wins in 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1997 and 1999. The Club along with the Blayney Faughs
achieved Monaghan AIB Club of the year in 1996. The county won the Ulster Junior Hurling
Championship in 1997 and 1998 backboned by Blayney players with Ciaran ‘Syd’ Connolly also captaining
the team to the All-Ireland Junior Hurling Championship in 1997.